Württemberg Kirchenbücher


Facts about Württemberg:

  • Württemberg, once a Duchy, became a Kingdom after the fall of the Holy Roman Empire in 1806.
  • In 1918, Württemberg became a republic called the Free People's State of Württemberg.
  • After World War II, Württemberg was divided between the US and French occupation zones and became part of two new states: Württemberg-Baden and Württemberg-Hohenzollern.
  • After the Federal Republic of Germany was formed in 1949, these two states merged with Baden in 1952 and became the modern German state of Baden-Württemberg.

For More Information: